Just a Little Rant on the War on Poverty

I posted this over on my personal Facebook status, but decided to share it here on my blog to reach a wider audience.  It’s a bit ranty, with my disjointed early-morning thought process, but it speaks from my heart.

Found this in some comments (I know, never read the comments) so I don’t know this person, but this is what people outside the US are really thinking:

“As an outsider looking in (I’m from the UK) it seems as though you have a bunch of right-wing nutters who have utter contempt for democracy (unless the vote goes their way). These nutters want to impose some sort of fundamentalist, neo-medieval, Christian society on people wherein the rich will become the new nobility and the rest will become the serfs and peasants living off any crumbs the rich care to throw at them.” – Martin Leach

And he’s absolutely right. And we the people have developed an attitude of “I’ve got mine, fuck anyone else” so the war on poverty has become a war on poor people. We’ve bought in to the stories about people that are “living off the system” which are either not true or are isolated incidents, and bitch and moan that we don’t want our hard-earned money going to these lazy people who refuse to work.

Look at your friends list. How many of your friends are unemployed? How many times do you see them post about putting in applications, getting interviews, and still struggling to find a job? I see it all the time, from dozens of people. They are not refusing to work. Companies are refusing to hire them.

Think they should just get a McJob? Some of them have tried. They have no experience working fast food or retail, so they either don’t get hired, or they get so few hours it’s not making any dent in their bills, or they’re only hired for the holiday season and are back looking for work in January.

I, myself, looked for a job in my field, where I have 15+ years of experience, for almost THREE YEARS, putting in more than 500 applications (I lost count) and getting a grand total of five interviews. In all that time I got one seasonal job paying $9 an hour, the lowest wage I’d had in about 20 years. I finally gave up, and am putting all my efforts into running my own business, where I don’t even want to calculate my hourly wage because I know it’s only pennies.

I am surviving, because I have people who care about me and who have taken and are taking care of me. Many people aren’t so lucky. And instead of helping those people, we look at them with contempt, calling them lazy and cutting any programs that will help them because we don’t want them to have our hard-earned money. We say churches and charities will take care of them, but we don’t donate to them, so where do we think they’re going to get the money to do so? Do we all need to be visited by three ghosts in order to realize our lives would be richer by helping others?

At the very least, we can stop bashing the poor. Stop whining that we don’t want to support the lazy bastards, because those programs aren’t in place to do that. Yes, some people take advantage of the system, but there are thousands more who desperately need it. Leave it to the people who administer these programs to find the ones who are abusing it, it’s not our job. Stop buying in to the stories you hear and realize that they either aren’t true or are isolated incidents that do not speak for every person on the program. The vast majority are children and the elderly. This is who you are hurting with your hatred.

And wake up and realize that whether you like it or not, you are part of the 99%. You are NOT one of the richest 1% and therefore will become one of the serfs and peasants mentioned in the quote above if we don’t get our heads out of our asses. Get out and vote. Research the candidates and support the ones you think will make the most impact, or do the least harm (as the choice often is, unfortunately). Apathy is what is really ruining our country. If we can’t even be bothered to do a bit of reading up on our candidates and haul our butts to the polls every election, the who are really the lazy bastards?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. So very eloquently put. Shared. *hugs* Miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

