Tu-Tu Additions: Some New Takes On an Old Product

A conversation about my Long Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt inspired me to create some new versions, so this is how I spent my Sunday.  We had talked about two changes: 1) making it shorter in the front, and 2) making a more “tattered” look.  My tu-tus are made with strips of tulle, so I took 1/3 of the strips it takes to make a long tu-tu and cut them in half to make the shorter part.  This results in a slightly fuller skirt, as there are more strips attached to the waistband.  Here is an even high-low tu-tu tulle skirt:

High-Low Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Front View

High-Low Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Front View

Basically, you have my Regular Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt in the front, and the long one in the back.  Since this uses the same amount of materials that the long one does, I’ll be charging the same amount, so if you want to order one like this before I get a new listing up, just order the Long Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt and include a note in the comments that you want the High-Low version.

Here’s a side view:

High-Low Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Side View

High-Low Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Side View

And here’s the back view:

High-Low Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Back View

High-Low Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Back View

For the more “tattered” look, I took the shorter strips for the front, and instead of folding them exactly in half before attaching them to the waistband, I folded them haphazardly at some random point, so each piece ended up with two different lengths.  It turned out like this:

High-Low Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Front View

High-Low Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Front View

Since this one also uses the same amount of materials as the Long Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt, you can order that one and just put a note in the comments section that you want the High-Low Tattered version.  I really love how this color combination turned out.  This is technically a three-color skirt, I just used the same turquoise for two of the colors, so there’s twice as much of it as there is of the mint green.  I think it ended up with a gorgeous water-effect look!

Here is the side view:

High-Low Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Side View

High-Low Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Side View

And here is the back view:

High-Low Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Back View

High-Low Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Back View

Then, just because I wanted to see how the skirt would look overall with the tattered effect, I made a Regular Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt and applied the same haphazard technique all the way around.  This is what I ended up with:

Regular Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Front View

Regular Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Front View

And the side view:

Regular Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Side View

Regular Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Side View

And the back view:

Regular Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Back View

Regular Tattered Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt Back View

This version uses the same amount of materials as the Regular Tu-Tu Tulle Skirt, so if you want to order a tattered version, just order the regular one and put a note in the comments that you’d like the tattered version instead.

Eventually, I’ll get separate listings up for these versions, but I’ll need to get more pictures first.  I just wanted to get these posted so you could see what I came up with!

These would be great for several different Halloween costumes, but please remember that I need 1-2 weeks for processing and it could take another week to get to you in the mail (longer if you live outside the United States) so order early!  And if you do order one, post a pic on my Facebook page so we can all see the full costume. 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

