365 Days of Gratitude: January 10th, 2013

(If you’re not sure what this is all about, please read the first post)

I’m grateful for:

  1. Having a washer and dryer in the house.  If I had to go to a laundromat (or in this town, the laundramat, seriously that’s what the sign says), I’d be paying a small fortune to prewash all this fabric.
  2. Getting ahead of the game on my schoolwork.  Don’t have anything due until Wednesday now!
  3. Hanging out in The Cape Radio’s IRC while I work on jewelry.  Forgot how much fun that can be.

And the person I’m grateful for today is Eric Hedlund.

I know Eric as DJ Templar, and there are two main reasons why I’m grateful for him.  First, he has kept The Cape Radio alive all these years.  Two previous owners dropped the ball/moved on to other things/life happened/whatever (I don’t know the details, I was busy rebuilding my life after my divorce) but Eric stepped up and stuck around.

And two, he rehired me as a DJ.  I was actually hired by all three owners, though I never really worked for the second one, as my first show was scheduled for the weekend after I asked for a divorce and got kicked out of the house.  Almost a year and a half later, I started playing again and a friend told me to join The Cape’s global chat channel, where Eric saw me and practically pounced on me, and asked if I wanted to DJ again.  Turns out I was the first DJ he’d ever heard on The Cape, so he really hoped I’d come back.  I am extremely grateful to have been given the chance, as I really love DJing and The Cape.  It’s home, and how does that saying go?  Home is where they have to let you in… so y’all can’t shut the door on me, you are stuck with me. 😛

So thank you Eric, for keeping the home fires stoked and for letting me back through the door.  And of course for all the music, entertainment, laughter, and friendship.  And all the baby pictures.   Eric’s daughter, Molly, has got to be one of the cutest babies ever! 😀

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

