365 Days of Gratitude: January 6th, 2013

(If you’re not sure what this is all about, please read the first post)

I’m grateful for:

  1. Customer Appreciation Sales.  Currently, Jo-Ann is offering 50% off all their Red Tag fabric and 40-50% off beads, plus through Tuesday they have a coupon for an additional 25% off your entire purchase.  Needless to say, the last little bit of money I collected through my IndieGoGo campaign is now gone.  😛
  2. Gift cards.  My Dad sent me a gift card to Michael’s as my Christmas gift, and I got it just in time to take advantage of yesterday’s 20% off your entire purchase coupon.
  3. Cheddar Bacon Biscuits.  My housemate made them with sausage and chorizo gravy for breakfast and we had the leftovers with chicken tenders and corn in a garlic butter sauce for dinner.  Yum!

And the person I am grateful for today is Courtney Panos.  Today (January 7th) is her birthday, so this seems a good day to add her to the list. 🙂

I know Courtney as Mizythra, her global ID in City of Heroes.  We have never actually met in person, but I consider her one of my best friends.  We mostly keep in touch through Facebook these days, as I am horrible about remembering to log in to my IMs or the IRC where I can usually find her.  Also, with the way my schedule has changed since I moved to New Hampshire, I am not staying up late enough to really get a chance to chat with her, since she’s on the west coast and is usually on late her time.  But I still occasionally send her a text or picture message of something that I know will amuse her, like giant Rastananas.

Courtney is one of those people that I can talk to about anything.  She doesn’t judge me, and tries to understand why I’m doing something she thinks is stupid, rather than just calling me an idiot.  She helped me through some tough times and got me to realize when she was right about me being an idiot without bashing me over the head with it.

We’ve helped each other work through some of our anxiety issues, and I’m really proud of the progress she’s made in not letting those issues ruin her fun.  She’s introduced me to some great bands and shares my love for SR-71.  I am constantly amazed at the imagination and creativity she has with her characters, and I miss RPing with them.  And she let me give her fingernail a name, Frank. 😀

So happy birthday Courtney, and thank you for being my friend.  Someday, I want to go to Pride with you. 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

