365 Days of Gratitude: January 5th, 2013

(If you’re not sure what this is all about, please read the first post)

I’m grateful for:

  1. All the people who came out to help my friends move.
  2. Weather much nicer than I had anticipated.  40 degrees is much better than the 20 degrees that was forecasted a week prior.
  3. All injuries that occurred required nothing more than a band-aid.

The person I’m grateful for today is one of the friends I helped move: Melissa Carr.

I haven’t known Melissa very long, and yesterday was actually only the second time I’ve seen her in person, the first time being at my wedding.  We know each other mostly through Facebook and our blogs, but so many of our life experiences have been eerily similar that we feel like we’ve known each other forever.

It was inevitable that we would meet.  Not only do we have a lot of the same friends, but her boyfriend and my husband have been friends for years.  But it was a post on a mutual friend’s Facebook about chocolate rum that brought us together.  Yesterday, I gave her the last little bit of the bottle I had left.  Unfortunately, it looks like it might only be available on the island of Saint Thomas, so we might have to plan a vacation there so we can stock up.  Anyone know how many bottles of booze you’re allowed to bring back from the US Virgin Islands?

Besides our love of rum and chocolate, we also share a love of creating.  Like me, she makes jewelry but she also knits and draws, two things I’m rather hopeless at.  Once she gets settled into her new place (with a studio of her own, yay!) I will talk her into doing a Featured Friend Friday post, but for now you can check out her blog or Facebook page.

We also have some similar mental health issues, and it’s so nice to have people to talk to who understand.  While it may have been the rum that originally brought us together, it’s probably the reading of each other’s posts about things we’ve gone through or are dealing with and saying “hey, me too!” that has really cemented our friendship.

So thank you, Melissa, for being one of my newest friends.  But we totally need to hang out more often.  🙂

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awww… and now I’ve gone and gotten all misty over here.

    Seriously, though, I’m so glad that we’ve had the opportunity to become friends. It really does feel like it’s been forever, instead of just a few short months mostly over the Internet, doesn’t it?

    Also, I’m starting a Rum Acquisition Fund. I’ve scoured the internet, and that rum seems to ONLY exist on St. Thomas. This calls for a foray to Where The Rum Lives to acquire more. In the meantime, I’m going to be forced to start figuring out how to make at least a reasonable facsimile until we can manage it.

    *hugs*

    PS ~ Thank you again for hauling down to help us the other day. It means a lot, and I’m not so good with the words at expressing that sort of thing.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

