365 Days of Gratitude: January 4th, 2013

(If you’re not sure what this is all about, please read the first post)

I’m grateful for:

  1. Hand-me-down computer parts.  My BFF sent me his old motherboard, so I’m on my way to having a desktop computer again.  Mine suddenly decided it didn’t want to have an admin login anymore, and being that it’s nearly ten years old, it’s time for an upgrade.
  2. Working on plans and ideas for my business.  This blog is going to see a lot more action, but I’ll save that for another post. 🙂
  3. Making a dent in the reorganization of my studio.  Anyone looking at it might not see it, but I know it’s there. 😛

And the person I am grateful for today is my BFF, T.J. Stover.  And not just because he sends me hand-me-down computer parts!

I met T.J. through a fan forum for City of Heroes in 2004.  We first met in person about a year later when I went to a meet-up in Atlanta.  My plans for where I was actually going to stay fell through, so I asked the host of the meet-up if I could stay there.  All the beds in the house were already claimed, but T.J. offered to share the large pull-out bed in the living room with me.  There was another couch in the room claimed by another person, so obviously nothing was going to happen, but he spent the next two nights clinging to his side of the bed in fear of rolling over and accidentally touching me and freaking me out.  Thus began our inside joke of “sleeping together.” 😛

I had a falling out with some of my friends from that forum, and went from one of the more popular people there to persona non grata.  Rumors and half-truths and skewed takes on events I was involved in were spread about, putting me in the worst light.  Several people stopped talking to me, but there were a few who stuck up for me, and T.J. was one of them.  Over the years, our friendship grew until he became my “bestie” and many times he’s been the only person I’ve been able to turn to.

There was no question who would be my best man at my wedding.  In fact, I’m not sure I even asked him if he would be!  But he didn’t hesitate in driving nearly 800 miles so he could stand by my side.  And he knows if he ever really needs me to be there for him, I’ll do whatever it takes to make it happen.

So thank you, T.J. for all the good times, the laughter, and for just being there when I needed you.  But not for the tickles.  No tickles!  😛

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

