365 Days of Gratitude: January 2nd, 2013

(If you’re not sure what this is all about, please read the first post)

I am grateful for:

  1. Figuring out how to import listings from one program into my online store so I can finally work on getting that running properly.
  2. Math skills and spreadsheets, which are helping me analyze my options and decide where I need to concentrate my efforts.
  3. Starting to read a new book that’s been waiting for me for months.  After two chapters, I’m already surprised and intrigued and only put it down because I knew if I kept reading I’d be up all night!

And the person I am grateful for is my mother.

My mom and I have had some rough times, especially during my teens and twenties.  There were several years when I refused to even speak to her.  At that time, I had high expectations of what a mother should be, and they were not something that my mother could fulfill.  I listened to other people who thought my mother was a bad person.  As I struggled with my own mental illnesses, I came to understand her better, as she has struggled all her life with hers.  It took her years to get the correct diagnoses, the right medications, the dosages that would work for her.  It took her years to finally like herself, to realize her own strength, and to find happiness within herself.  I’m extremely proud of the progress she has made.

My mother has always tried to be as open and honest with me as possible, and to let me be my own person.  She tells me she is proud of the way I raised myself.  While neither one of us may have always agreed with the other’s choices, she taught me that it is up to me to make my own choices, and thereby every individual’s right to make his or her own choices.

She also taught me how to sew, a skill that I use today in my business.  Thanks Mom, I wouldn’t be where I am today without you. 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

