Monday Musings: Rebooting

Craft Fair Season is finally over and I can finally get back to concentrating on my online business.  I’ve learned a lot about craft fairs though, and will continue to do them in the future, applying what I’ve learned.  But that’s for another post, today is about rebooting my business and my brain for “online” versus “in person” sales.

First on my agenda is processing the orders I received last week and getting them out in the mail today.  Interestingly enough, I have had more sales in my Etsy shop in the first nine days of December than I did at all five craft fairs combined.  So I have several orders that need to go out.  I keep most of my items in “kits” and don’t actually put them together until I make a sale.  This allows me to spend more time creating new products, rather than making a bunch of one thing that is going to sit around gathering dust until someone buys it.  So that’s why my products generally take 1-5 business days to be shipped out.

Next, I need to reorganize my inventory and get photographs taken so I can get more items listed in my Etsy shop.  This includes items for my Five X Fifty posts.  You’ll be seeing several of those this week, as I hope to get at least 2 or 3 posted each day.  I’m also going to start a “Tuesday Top Ten” weekly post featuring the ten items most favorited in my shop over the previous week.  I’ll kick that off tomorrow with my Top Ten all time most favorited items.  Any guesses which ones those are?  What are your favorites?  Feel free to post a link to them in the comments. 🙂

I also have several custom orders to work on, and I’m talking to a few other people about their ideas, so I’ll be making myself available on IMs later this evening.  I plan to have those that I’ve already received payment for out by the end of the week.  There’s still plenty of room in my schedule to get more custom orders out before Christmas, so let me know what you have in mind!

Speaking of Christmas, I posted an FAQ about holiday shopping on my Facebook page last night.  I will copy it here, in case you missed it there:

  1. Most items in my Etsy shop can be ordered through the 18th.
  2. All orders will ship by the 20th, the date USPS gives as the last date for Christmas delivery of First Class Mail. If you want an upgrade to Priority Mail, I can ship that way through the 21st, but an additional fee will apply so please contact me to arrange payment.
  3. Custom orders should be finalized by the 15th. Remember, I cannot start work on a custom order until payment is received and I’ll need time to gather any supplies I don’t already have on hand, plus have time to actually make everything. If your custom order idea is particularly large or complicated, please contact me with details ASAP so I can let you know if a Christmas delivery date is possible.
  4. If a Christmas delivery date is not possible, but you still want to give my items as a gift, I will make a card to give your gift recipient, letting them know what is being made and when to expect it.
  5. Items can be shipped directly to your gift recipient, and I will gift wrap for no additional charge if you let me know it’s a gift.
  6. I will be putting more items up this week. If you have any suggestions or requests for particular types of items or themes, please leave them in the comments here and I’ll see what I can do! I have tons of charms that can be made into Simple Charm Necklaces or Earrings, so if you are looking for a gift for someone who likes ask me if I have any related charms.
  7. I recommend going to http://www.indiegogo.com/rewondered2 first and making a contribution there, as you’ll be able to choose one item for free and get a gift certificate for the amount of your contribution. There are extra steps involved than just ordering from my Etsy shop directly, but you’ll get more for your money! Information about redeeming your rewards is here: https://rewondered.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/regarding-rewondered-redoubled-rewards
  8. If you haven’t yet received your gift certificate from your IndieGoGo contribution, just choose “other” for payment method when you place your order on Etsy and leave a note in the comments section. I’ll verify your contribution and send you an invoice for any balance due.
  9. I will be on vacation from December 22nd through 25th.
  10. If you have any other questions, please email me at rewondered@gmail.com or post a comment here or on my Facebook page.

Speaking of Facebook, Intuit is running a “Small Business, Big Wishes” promotion where I could win $5000 to expand my business, and I’d really appreciate a vote for me, as they look at the ones with the most votes to decide who will win.

So that’s my Massive To Do List™ for this week: concentrate on getting more items up in my Etsy shop and putting together orders for the holidays.  And avoid catching the plague that my housemate has… there will be lots of orange juice, tea, and vitamins imbibed this week!  I’m going to be a very busy girl, and I don’t have time to get sick.  You hear that germs?  Back! Back, I say!!  😛

And speaking of back, back to work for me!  Stay tuned for more Five X Fifty posts later today!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Five X Fifty: Day 13 – Fleece Fringe Boa Scarves « Rewondered Blog

Leave a Comment

