Report: Craft Fair #2

Yesterday I was at the Lin-Wood Friends of Recreation Holiday Craft Fair in Lincoln, NH.  This was my first venture farther north of Concord, and I have to agree with the reports I’ve heard about the beauty of the White Mountains area.  Several times we came around a corner or over a rise and said “Ooh, look at that!”  I am very grateful that it was a beautiful, sunny day, and what clouds we saw weren’t angry enough to pelt us with rain or snow.

We’re getting the set-up and tear-down of the booth down to a science.  It’s kind of amazing what can fit into my car, and the guy who offered to help us unload commented on my excellent use of available space.  After we got everything inside, Lorne wandered off to help others, telling them that it was better not to be underfoot of his wife while she was setting things up.  😛

I had a 10 foot by 10 foot space this time, so I did a sort of U-shaped display.  I managed to leave half my upcycled bags at home, so my hanging display was a little bit more sparse than last time.  Oops.  Again, I got lots of positive comments on these, and even sold one!

Rewondered at Lin-Wood Holiday Craft Fair on November 10, 2012

Rewondered at Lin-Wood Holiday Craft Fair on November 10, 2012

Rewondered at Lin-Wood Holiday Craft Fair on November 10, 2012

Choose a Charm Made While You Wait Jewelry by Rewondered

The above picture shows my “make while you wait” display that I didn’t have ready for the last show, and is probably the biggest difference between the dismal sales there and the much better sales at this show.  Of the twelve items I sold, eight of them were made on the spot.  Of course, six of those were bracelet charms that two little girls kept coming back to get more of.  The other two were pairs of earrings using little mustache charms.  I should probably get those listed on Etsy, methinks.

Here’s a pic you can enlarge to see more of the charms I have available.  And this isn’t even all of them, just what I could fit in the display rack!

Charms Available for Earrings, Bracelets, Necklaces or Wine Charms by Rewondered

*

On a humorous note, I am greatly amused that this has happened at both fairs: a guy is buying something for his kid, obviously planning it to be a Christmas gift, as he tells me “I can’t be seen buying this.”  The whole transaction is very furtive and he runs off with the item hidden in his coat.  I wonder if this will happen at every craft fair?  I kind of hope so, because it just makes me giggle!

All in all, when you factor in the gas necessary for a three-hour round trip drive, I probably about broke even on this craft fair.  The woman in the space next to me said that attendance and sales at all the craft fairs she’s done this year had been down compared to what she’s seen in the five previous years.  A rather disheartening piece of news, but at least I know it’s not just me.

My next craft fair is a three-day one, at an ice rink during a hockey tournament, so I’m working on some ideas for “hockey moms” and hockey fans.  Let me know if you have any ideas you think I should try!  Lorne says I should make puck bunnies, but somehow I don’t think that’s appropriate.  I am considering making up some bunny ears, though.

Anyway, it’s time for me to get back to work.  No rest for the wicked, as they say, and I am definitely on Santa’s naughty list this year! 😛

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Five X Fifty: Day 4 – Button Rings « Rewondered Blog

Leave a Comment

