Monday Musings: When Several Days Hit You At Once

You know that saying, “I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days hit me at once.”  This weekend was very much like that.  I’ve been burning the candle at both ends trying to get ready for craft fair season, and didn’t sleep at all Friday night as I frantically made sure everything was packaged and priced and ready to go.  I laid down for about an hour and a half, but I don’t think I got more than 20-30 minutes of sleep.  Needless to say, I was pretty exhausted.

Earlier last week, Lorne and I had a conversation that went something like this:

Him: Of course you’re tired, you’ve been working what, 12 hour days?

Me: No.

Him: 15?

Me: More like 16-18.

Him: I rest my case.

Early Saturday morning, we packed up the car and headed to the fair.  My space was in the back corner of the library, which really was a perfect spot for two bibliophiles with social anxiety issues.  It was SO tempting for us to start pulling books off the shelves to read, especially since we were in the Reference section, and I spied a whole shelf full of books on costuming.  I managed to grab some quick pictures of the display while there was a lull in the crowd.

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts & Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts & Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts & Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts & Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts & Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts & Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts and Crafts Market 2012

Rewondered Display at John Stark Arts and Crafts Market 2012

That’s my wonderful, supportive husband in the last pic, wearing the Wondiosyncra-Tee I made for him (it says “Random” – his nickname).  He is such a good sport with all of this and I am very lucky to have him!

I had the “Hero” Wondiosyncra-Tee and Comic Captions Straitjacket Hoodie that I donated to the Real World Hero charity auction on display and got several compliments on them and all my items, especially my Skirt Bags and Button Rings (need to get some of those up on Etsy).  Several people took my business card and fliers, and I was asked by the organizer of another local event in late August if I’d like to participate.  Of course I said yes and she took my contact information.

Unfortunately, sales were a bust, and I didn’t even come close to making back the fees I paid to participate.  I had hoped to make at least ten times what I did and be able to get some supplies to make more of the ideas I have for my 50 New Products in 50 Days.  So I’m going to make a special deal for anyone who contributes to my IndieGoGo campaign between now and midnight Eastern tomorrow, November 6th: get an extra 50% of your contribution on your Rewondered gift certificate.  So a $5 contribution will get one item and a gift certificate for $7.50 and a $50 contribution will get a gift certificate for $235.  This is a limited time offer, because I need funds now in order to get the supplies to complete items before my next craft fair on November 10th.  And don’t forget, if I reach double my goal, ALL rewards will double!

Double My IndieGoGo Goal and I'll Double the Rewards

*

After we got back from the craft fair, I was so exhausted, I went straight to bed and slept until about 9pm.  I went back to bed around 11:30pm and slept in until around 9am, but spent most of Sunday feeling rather brain dead.  I tried to get items listed and blogs posted, but words were completely failing me.  So I gave up and gave myself the day (mostly) off, and worked on a few creative projects instead, again going to bed fairly early and sleeping in this morning.  Apparently I am getting much too old to pull all-nighters!

The good news is that I have most of my inventory for the next show all ready to go.  I’ll just be adding in the new stuff I’m making this week, including the new products I’m working on.  I really want to work on more non-jewelery items and some stocking stuffers and holiday-specific products.  As much as I hate seeing Christmas stuff before Thanksgiving, it’s kind of necessary for these holiday-themed craft fairs.

Now, speaking of several days hitting at once, I am woefully behind on my daily Five By Five posts.  So I’ll be playing catch up and posting Days 3, 4 and 5 later today.  I’m going to change the name to “Five X Fifty” as I think that better describes this promotion, and gives me a little more leeway than a 5pm deadline that is sometimes difficult for me to achieve, depending on what other deadlines and commitments I have for the day.  I also was planning to do Snap Barrettes for the Day 5 product, but I didn’t get a chance to make what I wanted to list, so I will have to postpone that to another day and choose a different item for Day 5.

Also, Etsy now allows listings to have variations, so rather than post five separate items that are extremely similar, I will just post one listing with at least five variations to choose from for some of my new products.  I’ll post individual pictures of each variation here on the blog, so you’ll still get at least five items, but they’ll all link back to just one listing.  Kind of like my Basically Beaded Faceted Bead Necklace where I added it to the Five By Five for each color available: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Purple, or Rainbow.  By the way, additional colors or combinations are available as a custom order. 🙂

So, I’ll be spending today working myself out from under this pile of days.  Luckily, I am feeling much better and much more coherent today.  But now I’m hungry, so I’m going to wander off and find myself some lunch.  Look honey, I’m remembering to eat today!  😛

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

