Reaggregation: A Collection of Unorganized Thoughts – Part 1: Events

  • Aggregation– collection into an unorganized whole

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and planning and brainstorming lately, and asking myself a lot of questions.  I’ve been wanting to write about some of the conclusions I’ve drawn, questions I still have, and ideas I’m working on, but have been having trouble deciding how to present them.  Did I need to write separate posts for each one?  Do a poll?  Get things more concrete before writing anything?  Ooh, and what’s this new idea over here?  Shiny!

Yeah, so I’ve been going around and around in my head lately, and nothing’s been posted here in three and a half weeks.  Wow, three and a half weeks, really?  Where did September go?  I swear it was August just a minute ago… is that a squirrel?

Oh yes, that’s right, I was organizing my thoughts.  As you can see, it’s a bit of a process.  So forgive me if I get rambly…

Events

Let’s start with events.  I really want to have a table or booth at two or three events every month.  One of the things that took up a good chunk of my September days was an SCA event, where I teamed up with a friend of mine who sells Auntie Arwen’s Spices.  This led to me thinking about other products and more period pieces I could make, but I’ll come back to that.  Let’s stay focused on events here. (I know it’s hard, but really Wondie, you can do it!)

So yes, more SCA events.  They’re fun and appeal to my theatre geek side, plus I get to dress up!  Next on the list is Birka in January.  Mostly I’ll just continue to team up with my friend for these, as it gives us both an extra hand for set-up as well as someone to talk to during the slow times.  Plus I am a total newb to the SCA and my friend grew up in it, so she can help me avoid mis-steps.

But January is a long way away, and the holiday selling season is coming up, so that means craft fairs.  Unfortunately, I can’t afford some of the fees for some of the larger shows, and many of those are juried and I don’t have photos of the new products I want to make, since they’re not made yet (remember, more on inventory later).  Also, the deadlines for many have already past, or they’re already full of jewelry artists.  Speaking of deadlines, my funds are extremely limited until about October 15th (and only a little less limited after that), so I’m juggling when I can actually apply, and the longer I wait, the greater the possibility that I won’t be able to do the show due to it already being full.  I also want to stay in New Hampshire to avoid having to deal with out-of-state vendor issues.  I’m still looking, so if you know of any that you think I might want to look in to, let me know.  For the moment, I’m seriously considering these:

  1. Hudson PumpkinFest – October 12-14 – I’d only be able to afford to do one day, likely the 14th.  My major concerns for this show is that it is outdoors, which means I would need to have some kind of tent/canopy, and the only one I currently have access to is 10×20, which means I need to pay for extra space as well as fill it with inventory.  Also, the deadline is October 1st.  So this one is looking unlikely, as I just don’t have the funds for all the extras I’d need that quickly.
  2. Windham High School Craft Fair – October 27th – This benefits the school’s drama and band programs, so I definitely want to support that.  Just need to get some pictures and I can send my application in.
  3. John Stark Arts Market – November 3rd – This is in Weare, and benefits the school’s art department.  Another one I definitely want to support, and close-by.
  4. Great Bay Charter School Holiday Craft Fair – November 10th – This in Exeter.
  5. Merrimack High School Annual Craft Fair – November 17th.
  6. Holiday Keene Craft Show – November 24th – This is a bit on the expensive side, but I can pay a deposit now and the rest later.  This one only allows 10-15 jewelery artists and requires pictures and a description of all products and equipment I’ll be using, so I need to figure out my display before I fill out the application.  This is also over the Black Friday-Cyber Monday weekend when I’ll be running specials in my Etsy shop, so inventory management is going to be tricky.
  7. 23rd Annual Beaver Meadow School PTO Gourmet Bake and Craft Fair – December 1st – That’s a mouthful, isn’t it?

I’m having trouble finding any others in December that aren’t already full.  These would keep me busy every Saturday between October 27th and December 1st, though I’m open to other ones that are closer/cheaper/better if they are available.  There’s also Sundays and possible weekday events, as well.  Of course, while I’d love to do them all, the upfront costs are a bit out of my reach right now, so I’m going to have to pick and choose.  If you’d like to help me get to more shows, consider buying a gift certificate, which could of course be used when you come to any of the shows, or order online.  Stock up now and get your Christmas shopping done early! 🙂

Home Parties

Another idea I’ve been considering is home parties.  Ages ago, I used to be a Pampered Chef Consultant, and I really enjoyed the idea of getting a chance to explain and demonstrate the products to a small group of people, and help the host or hostess earn free stuff.  Why not apply that concept to my products?  Especially as we gear up for the holidays!  Wouldn’t it be awesome to go over to your friend’s house, have some wine and munchies, and get a bunch of awesome handmade gifts for your friends and family without having to make them yourself or brave the crowds at a craft fair?  It would also be a great way to do custom order consultations, and people could bring any jewelry that needs simple repairs.  And if I did these on Saturday nights, after the craft shows, or on Sundays, everything would already be packed up in my car. 😉

I’m still working out the details, but the person hosting the party would get a percentage of the total sales as credit toward their own purchases, and additional incentives if their friends book a party of their own.  This would work out to free gifts for yourself or your family and friends, just for inviting a few friends over and giving me a space to set up a display table.  So let me know if you’re interested in hosting!  Of course, you’d need to be somewhere that won’t take me more than a couple of hours to drive to (sorry Florida friends!) but perhaps I can do an online version of this too.  Need to get more items up online first, but it bears thinking about.  I’ll get back to you on that. 🙂

So with these ideas, I could be VERY busy between now and Christmas.  And I’m going to stop here and continue collecting my unorganized thoughts in future posts.  Stay tuned for Part 2: Inventory!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reaggregation: A Collection of Unorganized Thoughts – Part 2: Inventory « Rewondered Blog

Leave a Comment

