Thursday Thoughts: OMG! I Got Married!

I think I have a pretty good excuse for not blogging for a few weeks.  The days leading up to the wedding were full of last minute planning and DIY projects, running around trying to find all the supplies I needed, making sure everyone had the information they needed, and general craziness.

Last Thursday, I packed up my car with all the things we would need, and headed down to where the wedding was being held.  Then began the whirlwind of connecting with out of town guests, getting everything in place, and trying to remember to breathe.

I was pretty bossy on Saturday, making sure everything got done, but I don’t think I crossed the line into Bridezilla or Bridethulhu territory, just my normal workaholic self coordinating an event.  My hair-dresser/DJ had to practically shove me into the shower and then tie me to the chair so she could get my hair braided.

My guests started arriving, and were probably shocked to see me running around in shorts and a white button-up top, with my hair looking fabulous but the rest of me so obviously not ready for a wedding.  I assured them that nothing would start without me!

Wondie Before the Wedding

I’m going to go get dressed, really I am!

The ceremony was full of fun and laughter, joy and love, and everything turned out wonderfully.  I’ll have a big write-up for you all later, but you can watch it here:

 

We spent Sunday hanging out with our out of town guests, taking my parents up to our house in New Hampshire so they could see where we live, and having dinner at the amazing Dim Sum place in Concord.  Monday, we took my mother to the airport, played miniature golf with my Best Man, then got caught in traffic as we drove down to Providence to meet up with my Dad and his wife and our caterers for dinner.  This was the worst part of the whole weekend, and our levels of cope had completely run out, but we eventually made it down and had a nice dinner.  We changed our original plans to stay in Mansfield another night, and took Tuesday easy, including an unscheduled 3+ hour nap!  We got home again late Tuesday night and I spent Wednesday going through photos and videos and getting them posted online.

So now I’m sitting down and writing this and thinking, “Wow, we did it!  We got married!”  It doesn’t necessarily feel any different, after all, we have felt married for the past year, so the only real difference is that piece of paper that makes it all legal.  But it is an amazing feeling to see how all my hard work in planning and making things for the wedding paid off.  And an even more amazing feeling to see the outpouring of love and affection as our friends and family came together to make this day happen for us.  We could not have done this without their help and support, and I do not have the words to fully express my gratitude, so I will just say “thank you” for now.

If you want to see pictures, I have about half the ones I know were taken up on my Flickr, and will add more as I receive them.  I’m attempting to put together a set with no more than 50 photos so I can submit our wedding to Offbeat Bride, but there are so many great ones, it’s hard to decide which ones best tell our story.  This one sums things up pretty well though, I think. 😛

Who Invited All These Tacky People?

Who Invited All These Tacky People?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. EEEEEEEEEEE!!!

    Ok, I’m fine. Really. 😉

    Reply
  2. Suja

     /  August 30, 2012

    Congrats to both of you! I have seen the change in both of you. It makes me so happy that you have found each other. May you continue to grow in the many years to come! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Comment

