Thursday Thoughts: Reality

Reality – real things, facts, or events taken as a whole; state of affairs

I took a bit of a break after my IndieGoGo campaign ended last Friday, but it’s time to face reality again.  So this is a sort of “State of Rewondered Address.”

The campaign didn’t go as well as I’d hoped, but better than I expected.  I received $410 in contributions, which will be about $350 after the fees taken out by IndieGoGo and PayPal.  This will pay for the gas to get to Ohio and back, supplies to make the perks and shipping costs to get them to the contributors, some Etsy listing fees, and some website fees.  I’ll have an exact accounting for you after I get back from Ohio.

Which brings me to my first brush with reality.  Last Friday, Columbus was hit by a derecho and power was knocked out all weekend at the condo where I used to live.  When I talked to my best friend on Saturday, he told me that the power might not be back until July 8th, so I cancelled my plans to go out there this weekend.  Luckily, they didn’t have to wait that long for power to be restored, but I felt it would be best to wait until later in the month to make the trip.  The plan now is to go the last weekend in July.

I had also planned to make a concentrated effort to get more items listed after I returned next week, but I can move that schedule up now.  We took some pictures yesterday of the Straitjacket Hoodie and my wedding dress, so the first will be listed in my Etsy shop today and I’ll be working on that Before and After post about my wedding dress that I keep promising you.  I’m also working on getting the backlog of my jewelry up on Etsy, as I still have hundreds of items that have never been listed.  I’m thinking of doing mini-themed sets of five at a time and making a blog post to go with them.  Perhaps I’ll call it Five By Five… five new items by 5pm.

The weather is supposed to be not as hot next week, so I should be able to get some cleaning and organizing done in the studio and get to work on the perks I need to make and some more new products I have in mind.  I’m afraid the studio is currently a disaster area, as I’ve just been running in there to find something and not cleaning up after myself in an effort to escape the heat as soon as possible.  There’s a possibility that I could get a window air-conditioner (assuming the one in storage actually works) in there, but we have to be able to get to the windows first!

So that’s the plan.  More listings up in my Etsy shop and my online store, cleaning and organizing the studio, and heading to Columbus at the end of the month.  Surprise, surprise… my reality = lots of work to do!  😛

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Alexandra

     /  July 5, 2012

    Hey – do both of us a favor and don’t worry a bit about any perks for me. I’d consider the fabulous bag you made for me for our NOLO trip to be the perfect perk.

    Alexandra

    Reply

Leave a Comment

