The Final Countdown – 9…

Nine days left in my IndieGoGo campaign!  Below is an awesome mashup of Europe’s “The Final Countdown” and Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” created by Wax Audio.  I have Lorne to thank for this.  He played it on his show on The Cape Radio last Tuesday.  It’s on their latest album, Mashopolus III: Mashups for the People, which you can get here.

 

Nine days left, and I’m still not showing up anywhere on the IndieGoGo site.  My stats do keep going up though, so thank you for your help and please, keep it up!  If you haven’t read Day 10 yet, there are instructions there on ways you can help increase my stats and spread the word of my campaign.

Right now, nine stands for 90’s, as in the temperature outside.  We hit a high of 95 yesterday and today’s forecast is for 94, according to weather.com.  I managed to work in my studio a bit yesterday morning before the heat drove me to the only air-conditioned room in the house, leaving a half-finished project still on my sewing machine.  I really want to finish it, because it’s awesome and I want to show it to you, but I just can’t be in my studio right now.  Just moving my laptop and a few projects to work on into the now air-conditioned bedroom (thanks to our roommate for helping us install the window air-conditioning unit!) had me headachy and feeling like I might pass out.  So the sewing machine stays were it is.  I’m not leaving this room unless I have to!

Unfortunately that means I might not be able to get any new products up for another day or two.  I have a few finished, but I still need pictures, and the areas I have set up to take pictures are in other rooms, plus the computer I use to get the pictures off my camera is in the studio.  I apparently left my card reader adapter in Ohio, and that’s the only computer I have that has one built in for that type of card.

Speaking of Ohio, I desperately need to take a trip out there and get more of my supplies.  While this is listed as Phase 2 of my campaign, with a goal of $1000, I will be modifying my plans based on what contributions I do receive, splitting it between the first two phases as best I can.  I’m planning to head out there July 5th, which is a huge stretch to my budget, so I’m really hoping for a few more contributions to help offset the cost of gas.

I’m going to spend most of today taking stock and updating my inventory on Etsy.  Don’t forget you can use the code LGBTPRIDE to get 20% off in my Etsy store, plus you can now pay with a credit or debit card instead of PayPal!  I’m also trying to decide if I want to keep my online store or not, as the monthly fees are really cutting into my budget.  I’m thinking of expanding the offerings there to include crafting supplies and used items, and just having a $5 flat rate shipping per order.  I have a ton of stickers and other scrapbooking supplies, used clothing and accessories that I haven’t rewondered yet, and other items that I can’t sell on Etsy, so the store would be good place to list them instead.  I’m also looking into other avenues of online selling.  I’ve had some luck with eBay, but the fees are atrocious.  Where do you shop for used items, handmade clothing and jewelry, and craft supplies?

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

