The Final Countdown – 10…

We’re down to ten days left in my IndieGoGo campaign, and I couldn’t resist posting this video:

 

Okay, now that I have that out of my system…

I started this campaign on IndieGoGo because I really don’t have a lot of other choices.  I am a college student trying to survive on student loans, and all the hundreds (yes, hundreds) of resumes and applications I’ve sent out over the past year to get a “real” job have met with next to zero response.  Next week I’ll “celebrate” three years since I got laid off my last full-time job, and since then I’ve worked one temporary, part-time job which lasted about two months, and I’ve had three interviews with companies I’ve never heard from again.  My amazing fiance and roommates keep a roof over my head and food on the table, but I hate feeling like I’m not contributing to the household.  I need my business to be successful enough to cover my personal bills and help out where I can.  I don’t have the credit or collateral to get a business loan and I’ve maxed out my credit cards.  I don’t have any rich relatives or friends to borrow money from and I’m not running the type of business that angel investors even consider.

I’m not telling you this as a sob story, just explaining why I’m trying the crowdfunding route.  I’ve been fairly consistently selling a few things over the last few months, but it’s just been enough to cover my costs of selling, such as all the various fees, shipping costs, and keeping my websites up.  I need to sell more items, but that involves more fees, specific equipment to sell at events such as a canopy and displays, advertising, more supplies to make more items, etc.  I just don’t have the money for that.  I have tons of supplies sitting in storage that I can’t access because they’re 750 miles away from where I live.  I know I can make this business work, but it’s all too true that it takes money to make money.

So I turned to IndieGoGo.  I have ten days left to get the $430 I still need to reach my initial $500 goal.  I still have hope that it can happen, but I’ll need help getting the word out, as I’m still not showing up anywhere on IndieGoGo’s site.  Those of you who have followed the instructions laid out in my No News and Good News post managed to get the majority of my stats tripled in just one week.  Thank you!  But it’s not over until it’s over, so I’ll repost the ways y’all can help here:

  • Go to http://www.indiegogo.com/rewondered1. Each view counts toward my “Gogofactor” so go take a look!
  • Under my video there is a box that says “Share this campaign.” Do any or all of the following:
    • Click on the heart to add my campaign to your favorites. You may need to create an account on IndieGoGo to do this, I’m not sure.
    • If you have Facebook, click on the “Like” button. It will ask you if you want to post it on your Facebook and you don’t have to, but it would be awesome if you did!
    • If you have Twitter, click on the “Tweet” button. It will pop up with a pre-filled message and link to the campaign, so you can just send it as is or change up the message. “Wondie said I had to tweet this” is fine. 😛
    • If you have Google+, click on the “g+” button. Again, you don’t have to actually post it on your Google+ but it would be awesome if you did!
    • If you have a website or blog and wouldn’t mind posting the nifty little widget you see at top right of this one, click the “Embed” button for the iframe code to use.
    • If you use Outlook and want to email this to some friends, click the “email” button and Outlook will pop up with a pre-filled message, you just have to add in email address to the “To” section. Of course, you can change the message to make it more personal to whoever you are sending it to.
  • Above the video are several tabs. Click on the “Comment” tab and write something nice like “Good luck!” or “Wondie is awesome!” Whatever you want, just keep it clean, okay? 😉
  • Make a contribution, even if it’s only $5. See my post on how to make a contribution if you have any questions, and my post on how and when you’ll get your perks.
  • Go to my Facebook page, my Twitter, and my website and click the link to the campaign there. Views from other social sites count, so ask people to click on any links you post, too.

Yesterday, I added a ton of pictures to the gallery of necklaces and bracelets that you can choose from for the $20 Recreate perk, instead of a custom made one.  Any of these can also be altered (add or change charms, for example) or I can make something similar in different colors.  These are available on a first come, first served basis, as many are one of a kind or limited editions.  You can also choose any of the bags or pillows shown in the gallery, and I’ll be adding pictures of more of those later.

I’m also considering adding up to three more perks (the maximum allowed is twelve and I have nine up there now).  I’ve got a few ideas, but I’m open to suggestions if you have any.

Now, I’m going to ask for your help for one more thing that has nothing to do with my IndieGoGo campaign.  As I mentioned at the end of yesterday’s post, I’m looking at applying for a grant that requires 250 people to log in using their Facebook accounts and “like” my business before they’ll even consider my application.  I found out I can start collecting those likes before I finish my application, and right now I’m up to 12 votes.  Here’s how it works:

  • You must have a Facebook account
  • Go to http://www.missionsmallbusiness.com
  • Click the “Log In & Support” button and log in using your Facebook account
  • Search for Rewondered and click the “Vote” button
  • That’s it, you’re done!  You only need to vote once!

I’m hoping to get more new products up later today, but it’s going to be a scorcher here and my third floor studio doesn’t have air conditioning, so I might not be able to work in here too long today or tomorrow.  We shall see how it goes!

Once again, I thank you all for your support and help getting my IndieGoGo campaign noticed.  Yes, there will be 9 more posts over the next 9 days.  Shall I find a fun “Final Countdown” video for each one? 😛

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. The Final Countdown – 9… « Rewondered Blog
  2. The Final Countdown – 8… « Rewondered Blog
  3. The Final Countdown – 7… « Rewondered Blog
  4. The Final Countdown – 4… « Rewondered Blog

Leave a Comment

