Monday Musings: Back To Work

It’s Monday!  I know most people hate Mondays, and most Mondays tend to hate people back.  But I think most of my friends would describe me as a bit of a Pollyanna, an optimist who always looks on the bright side of life.  So I don’t subscribe to the “Mondays Suck” newsletter.

Don’t get me wrong, I really didn’t want my weekend to end.  I don’t take a lot of weekends completely off (and admittedly, I did some posting about my IndieGoGo campaign this weekend, so I guess I didn’t take this one completely off).  But I thoroughly enjoyed just hanging out with Lorne and playing Diablo 3 and petting the cats we were taking care of for the weekend.  It was a great weekend without much more to do other than making sure our friends didn’t have to worry about cleaning the litter boxes or having clean sheets and towels when they got home from their vacation.  We thought about putting mints on their pillows but it was kind of warm and coming home to melted chocolate in their bed would have totally ruined the effect. 😛

So here it is Monday and I’m happily puttering away in my studio.  I really enjoy what I do, taking something “useless” and making it wonderful.  That’s another aspect of my Pollyanna personality, I see potential and inspiration where other people see junk.  I took a torn t-shirt that was way too big for my anyway, and created a cute summer top by cutting off the sleeves and tying up the back and sides.

Rewondered Tied T-Shirt Top - Back

Rewondered Tied T-Shirt Top – Back

Rewondered Tied T-Shirt Top - Front

Rewondered Tied T-Shirt Top – Front

I took a pair of men’s pants and some scrap fabric and lace and made a skirt.

Rewondered Skirt from Mens Pants

Rewondered Skirt from Mens Pants

I took a plaid jumper and made a bag out of the top.

Rewondered Jumper Top Bag

Rewondered Jumper Top Bag

And I took two skirts, one denim and one velvet, that were way too small for me and made a new, two-tone skirt.

Rewondered Velvet and Denim Skirt

Rewondered Velvet and Denim Skirt

This is what I love doing, this is what I want to do for the rest of my life, this is how I want to make a living.  And this is why I’m pushing my IndieGoGo campaign.  Because in order to be successful, I need the money to implement my plans.  The blood, sweat, and tears I continuously pour into this business will only take me so far, unfortunately.  As the saying goes, you need money to make money.  Thank you for spreading the word about the campaign, thank you to anyone who makes a contribution, thank you for helping me make this dream come true.

I have a wide variety of perks available, but if you have an idea for something I could make for your contribution, email me and we’ll see what we can work out.  I am definitely open to suggestions! 🙂

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Were those my husband’s pants transformed into a fabulously cute skirt?

    Reply
    • Why yes they were! I had the top part of the pants left over after making the pocket bags. Lorne and Leslie had a little trouble when I held the skirt up to show them, though… I think they were picturing him wearing it! 😛

      Reply

Leave a Comment

