Letting the Cat Out of the Bag

Well now.  You know how I’ve been completely ferret-brained lately?  There is actually a good reason for at least some of my distraction…

I’m getting married.

 

Wow.  I’m getting married.  After my divorce in 2005, I seriously doubted I’d ever say those words, and here I am.  Seven years ago I never wanted to get married again, and vowed that it would take someone really special to change my mind.  Lucky for me, I found someone really special. 🙂

I actually knew I was going to marry Lorne about a month after we officially met in person.  For those that don’t know the story, we’re both DJs for The Cape Radio, so we’ve known each other online for about six years, but we only met in person last June, at the station’s annual meet and greet in Chicago.  A month later, I ventured to New Hampshire to spend a week with him, and ended up staying nine days.  He asked me then how I felt about marriage, and I knew in that instant that I wanted to marry him.  We agreed that we needed to live together a year before we got married though, so on August 22nd, 2011, I moved to New Hampshire.

Since then, he’s actually proposed several times, but always included the caveat that he was going to propose properly.  Last Thursday night, he proposed again, but this time he told me “this is not a drill.”  Of course, just like every other time, I said yes. 🙂

We’d actually already begun discussing possible dates before the “official” proposal, and I’d jokingly suggested August 23rd, since that would make sure we fulfilled the one year agreement we had made (though we really don’t need the whole year to be sure anymore).  We thought about May, but figured that would be a little too soon to get everything together.  The “June Bride” thing is a bit too conventional and overdone for our tastes, and July is out because of his birthday and the trip to my high school reunion.  As we looked at the calendar this past weekend, late August made the most sense.  But the 23rd is a Thursday, and we wanted a weekend wedding, so we will be getting married on August 25th, in the backyard of Lorne’s best friends’ house in Massachusetts.  Since the majority of my family is in Oregon and likely won’t be able to travel clear across the country, we will be having a second ceremony out there next year, for our one year anniversary.  Oh, and legally we’ll be getting married in New Hampshire sometime before the wedding in Massachusetts (I’m still saying the 23rd would be appropriate!) so that’s actually three weddings all together.  Though the New Hampshire one will probably be the short short version. 😛

Three weddings in three different states with practically no budget to speak of?  Yeah, I can do this.  I’ll be making a lot of things myself, relying on the help of many of our friends (we already have the venue, catering, officiant, and a case of champagne pledged by our generous friends!) and keeping things as small as possible.  My event planning and organizational skills will be put to the test, and my creativity will have quite the workout!  But it will be fun, and give me the excuse to try some new designs for Rewondered too.  I might even post some samples and have a poll to determine what actually makes it into the weddings.  Seriously, I have way too many ideas for my dress, even with three weddings!

You’ll be hearing a lot more about this over the next (gulp!) five months as we firm up our plans and put them into place. My goals are to NOT be Bridezilla and to keep Lorne from freaking out (his eyes have already begun to glass over a few times) so this blog will be a bit of an outlet for me.  You’ve been warned! 😛

OMG OMG OMG I’M GETTING MARRIED!!!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Should let you know that Amber and Elias left a comment on my blog (or was it FB? Too much social media!) about cake. Amber seems to think I’m in charge of your wedding. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Restaurants and Reprinting « Rewondered Blog
  2. The Best Laid Plans… « Rewondered Blog

Leave a Comment

