What Have I Done?

You may have noticed that I didn’t post a new One Hit Wonder Project for Friday.  It’s been a pretty hectic week and many things have kind of fallen by the wayside.  I’ve been beating myself up for not getting more accomplished and feeling like I keep falling further and further behind.  I don’t usually succumb to negativity, but it’s been eating at me a bit.

Then I read a post by my friend Teresa Noelle Roberts on her blog. She’s participating in something called the Independence Day Challenge which is, as she puts it, about “living a more earthy-crunchy life in a very practical way,and it’s mostly but not exclusively concerned with food.”  Now I don’t garden or cook, so I was about to just say “Oh, that’s nice for Teresa” but then she shared the words of Sharon Astyk, who initiated the challenge: “the whole idea is to get the positive sense of your accomplishments – it is easy to think we haven’t done anything to move forward, but in fact, we all do, almost every day.  We just think of accomplishment as a big thing – a whole day spent putting up applesauce or a hundred tomato plants.  The Independence Day project makes us count our little accomplishments and see that we are moving forward.”

Whoa.  Now there’s a thought.  What *have* I done?  Well, the necklace for Friday’s post is finished and photographed.  I completed the Treasury that goes with it.  It’s really just a matter of putting the listing up and the pages together.  Monday’s necklace is almost complete and I am done with the Treasury for that one too.  In fact, I have the necklaces completed for the posts through February 27th, and the songs picked out through April 16th.  I picked up supplies today to complete some of the pieces I have in mind, and have more supplies on order.  I have templates set up to make the postings easier.  The project is well in hand, I just have to do the research and put everything together.

I’ve been beating myself up over not getting more things listed on Etsy and in my store as well, but I have at least two dozen necklaces photographed and ready to be put up on Etsy, dozens more completed and ready to be photographed, and it’s just a matter of clicking a few boxes on the 80 or so listings I have imported to make them live in my store.  I’ve been trying to get all my inventory cataloged and accounted for, and I found an awesome application for Etsy sellers to keep track of it.  Between Etsy and my store I have over $10,000 worth of inventory already listed!  That number is kind of boggling, as I have just a fraction of my completed items up, and many more in the “ooh, I know what I’m gonna make with this!” stage.

Today I had planned to work more on inventory and get yesterday’s One Hit Wonder Project entry up, but you know what they say about the best laid plans.  The mouse for my desktop computer is on its last legs, and I mentioned wanting to hit up the President’s Day sale at the local JoAnn store, so my Spousal Equivalent and I took a jaunt over to Keene.  He wanted to pick something up at the natural foods store, so that was our first stop.  Then of course we had to stop at the candy shop.  We noticed that the thrift shop we always walk by on the way to the candy shop was actually open, so we had to go in and browse. I picked up half a dozen patterns and two sets of comfy flannel pajamas.  The patterns are for when I expand into clothing designs, and the pajamas are to wear while I’m working, so those are business-related purchases, right?

Our next stop was the JoAnn store, where I found what I was looking for to use for the February 29th One Hit Wonder Project, as well as other supplies to use in the future.  We then headed to Staples to find me a new mouse, but it was near the Dollar Tree so we stopped in there first so I could pick up some straws and the plastic boxes I use for sorting and storing my supplies.  Now, taking me to a thrift store, a craft store, and a dollar store is sure to test the limits of anyone’s patience with me!  These are my three favorite types of stores and I can browse forever, but my Spousal Equivalent was only showing the beginning signs of mild frustration with me.  So we stopped into the pet store so we could squee over the adorable critters and recharge his batteries a little, since he loves animals of all kinds.  We cooed over a dwarf hamster that had just gorgeous coloring and markings, so I might be able to convince him to get one when we have a few hundred extra dollars to spend on all the cool hamster cage accessories. 😛

We finally made it to the Staples and got my new mouse, stopped for a bite to eat, then headed home.  All that fresh air and exercise was a bit much for us hermits, so we laid down for a bit for cuddles and ended up taking a two-hour nap.  Then I got caught up on my email and social media and now I’m writing this blog post.  So while I didn’t accomplish what I had originally planned, I did accomplish quite a lot, including seeing just how much my SE will put up with me when I’m shopping!  We got out of the house, which we hadn’t done a lot of in the last few weeks as we’ve both dealt with the evil snot monster that took up residence in our heads.  I got everything on my list of things I needed to buy – and things that weren’t on the list but isn’t that always the case?  And I spent a lovely day with my SE, which is really the most important thing on my Massive To Do List.  All in all, I’m feeling pretty accomplished!

Why not try putting away the Massive To Do List and make a new What I Have Done List?  Count all the little things… and see just how much you’re moving forward. 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Comment

